

Annex 5

Decision Document on

Session 5

The Revised Texts of the Agreement and Staff Regulations related to Executive Directors and Deputy Executive Directors

The 13th CTI-CFF SENIOR OFFICIALS' MEETING (SOM-13)

29 – 30 November 2017 Dusit Thani Manila Hotel Makati City, Philippines

Adopted on 29 November 2017
by
the Governments of Indonesia, Malaysia, Papua New Guinea,
the Philippines, Solomon Islands, and Timor-Leste

I. Background

The 12th Senior Officials' Meeting (SOM-12) held on 1-2 November 2016 and the 6th Ministerial Meeting (MM-6) held on 3 November 2016 in Port Moresby, Papua New Guinea. The SOM-12 discussed and made decisions accordingly on the proposal from Timor-Leste regarding "the Amendment to the Agreement on Establishment and Staff Regulation of CTI-CFF Regional Secretariat in relation to the Executive Director Appointment Mechanism", which was officially submitted and signed by the Minister in February 2016.

The following were the Timor-Leste's proposals that already discussed by the SOM-12:

- Article 6, No. 2 and 4, of the Agreement on the Establishment of CTI-CFF Regional Secretariat
- Article 7, No. 1, of the Agreement on the Establishment of CTI-CFF Regional Secretariat
- Regulation 7, No. 3 and 6, of the Staff Regulations of CTI-CFF

The SOM-12 made decisions related to these proposals. The Chairman's Summary of SOM-12 was adopted by the MM-6 accordingly. As stated in the Chairman's Summary of SOM-12, No. 4 (4.1, 4.2, 4.3, 4.4) the following are decisions:

- 4.1 Appreciated the Government of Timor-Leste for the proposal for amendment to the Agreement on Establishment and Staff Regulation of CTI-CFF Regional Secretariat in relation with the Executive Director appointment mechanism;
- 4.2 Agreed that the appointment mechanism for Executive Director's post shall be made to observe the principle of rotation in alphabetical order among CTI-CFF Member States;
- 4.3 Agreed that the term of Executive Director post shall be for four (4) years based on annual performance and assessment by the CTI-COM; and
- 4.4 Agreed that the Deputy Executive Director post shall be based on merit services and it is open for all CTI-CFF member countries but will not be of the same nationality as Executive Director at any point of time.

Following above mentioned decisions, the related articles/regulations (i.e. article 6 and 7 of the Agreement on the Establishment of CTI-CFF Regional Secretariat as well as regulation 7 of the Staff Regulations of CTI-CFF) need to be revised or updated accordingly in order to have new texts for each of relevant article.

It shall be mentioned that proposed revised/new texts are extremely in accordance with the decisions made in SOM-12 and only for related with proposed articles/regulations (i.e. no additional/new articles/regulations).

The revised texts to be considered by the SOM-13 and later on, to be recommended for CTI-COM approval in its 7th Ministerial Meeting (MM-7).

II. Decision

Referring to the discussion and consideration among the SOM-13 on session of The Revised Texts of the Agreement and Staff Regulations related to Executive Director and Deputy Executive Directors (Attachment 5.a), the Senior Officials hereby:

- 1. Agreed to adopt the new texts of Article 6 (2) and (4) on Executive Director and article 7 (1) on Deputy Executive Directors of the Agreement on the Establishment of CTI-CFF Regional Secretariat as well as Regulation 7 (3) and (6) on Recruitment Policy for the Executive Director and Deputy Executive Directors of Staff Regulations (Attachment 5b), and
- 2. Recommended the new texts to CTI-COM through its Ministerial Meeting for approval.

Attachments:

- 5.a. Presentation on Revised Texts of the Agreement and Staff Regulations related to Executive Directors and Deputy Executive Directors
- 5.b. Adopted New Texts of Article 6 (2) and (4) on Executive Director and article 7 (1) on Deputy Executive Directors of the Agreement on the Establishment of CTI-CFF Regional Secretariat as well as Regulation 7 (3) and (6) on Recruitment Policy for the Executive Director and Deputy Executive Directors of Staff Regulations